Students Honored in Academic Awards Assembly

Dallas Academy middle and high school students were honored on Thursday, May 4th at the annual Academic Awards Assembly held in Donald Hall. Academic awards were given in a variety of categories such as most improved in a class and best overall achievement.

Two perfect attendance awards were given and recipients included senior A'Lexis Tolle and eighth grader Brenden Kerbel

The Saboohi Khan Memorial Scholarship was presented during the ceremony. Ms. Saboohi Khan was a Dallas Academy teacher when she passed away in 2013 after a long and brave battle with cancer. She was an exceptional teacher, wife, mother, friend, and an all around wonderful person. The teachers, staff, and board of Dallas Academy voted unanimously to create the Saboohi Khan Memorial Scholarship Fund in her honor. Saboohi would be so proud that her legacy is helping students succeed. This year’s recipient of the Saboohi Khan Memorial Scholarship is freshman Danna Boy. Congratulations, Danna!

The Board of Trustees honored Mr. and Mrs. Richardson in 2015 with the creation of the Mr. and Mrs. R Senior Honors Award and Scholarship. This prestigious award is presented to a deserving senior who exhibits all of the qualities of leadership, compassion, helpfulness to others, and unwavering school spirit. This year, we are proud to present this award to the outstanding member of the Dallas Academy class of 2018, DJ Patrick. Way to go, DJ!

The highest honor of the day is the Soaring Eagle Award which is given annually to a member of the graduating senior class. The award dates back to when Dallas Academy's mascot was the Eagle. The Soaring Eagle Award recognizes a graduate that represents the qualities of integrity, enthusiasm, and selflessness. The award recipient must demonstrate high honor as well as serve as a role model to future Dallas Academy graduates. The Soaring Eagle recipient shows unwavering dedication to community, school, and family. The class of 2017 is such an outstanding class that we are proud to share that three students were selected by the Dallas Academy faculty and staff for this prestigious honor. We are thrilled to announce that Michael Bowman, Luther Harris, and Pierce Williams were selected as 2017 Soaring Eagle winners! Congratulations to Michael, Luther and Pierce on their many accomplishments. You make us all proud!